Skip to content

Will Shrink for Mesh

07/01/2012

So here are my digits. I didn’t do this last year, but you can read all about it on Ms Singh’s blog here.

I`m kinda small, and I`ve been shrinking for maybe a year now.  The less I have to stand beside giants, the smaller I get.   It feels pretty normal for me though, easier to take pics etc.   I was at the Bakumatsu Kimono Festa today with lots of Japanese or Asian inspired avis and I would have been one of the taller chicks.  So in my little world, on average, I`d say I`m pretty average 😀

Before you measure yourself, make sure your feet are touching the ground!!    I usually measure myself with a plain prim.  I got 165cm on the plain prim and 165 or 5’5″ on the ruler.   At first the ruler was off, even though my height offset was set to zero, my feet weren’t quite touching the ground. Fixed that up and the ruler matches the prim measurement exactly.    But if you whack 165 in to a converter you get 5’4″….Whatever. I live in the future where we count in tens so 165cms it is.

– Meshy Questions from Ms Singh –

1. How has the introduction of mesh affected your SL, if at all? Are you open to wearing mesh often or do you still shy away from it?

It’s certainly affected my $L balance, that’s for sure!   I love hair and I looovvee mesh hair.  It is fabulous and I can not get enough. Brands I hadn’t worn because of boob stick hair (Exile) or brands that seem to have re-invented themselves with mesh (Wasabi Pills) are now staples in my hair folder.

Clothing.  I`m up for it all.  I’m small so usually fit a XS or XXS.   Prim ball gowns, I rarely wear, but I can still dig these.  But prim parts on skirts, system skirts.  So long! Not even looking back.  And I don’t think I`ve worn a clothing sculpt, excluding shoes and my fave Jack Spoon skirts,  for months.

2.  Have you changed your shape to fit into mesh? If so, did you go bigger or smaller?

Obviously, I`m pretty small.  Usually a XS or XXS fits just fine, with a little boob tweak . I have no problems shrinking or expanding myself for the overall look.

3. Do you think the mesh deformer will resolve a lot of the issues people seem to have with mesh and will it encourage you to wear mesh more often, if you don’t already?

From everything I`ve read and listened to, without being at all tech or blendery, I think it will help some.  But it won’t make that much of a difference to me.  I`m also *not at all* concerned with broken content.  Onward and upward!

Final thoughts –

If anything this whole mesh revolution has highlighted the great divide between the fashion/content hungry crowd .. and the rest.  Those people who are *still* wearing their prim bling shoes, system flared jeans.  We shouldn’t let the idea of breaking the one or two pieces of mesh that conservative buyers have splurged on (eye roll here) hold back the creators and consumers, biting at the bit for more and more mesh and solutions to make it accessible to the majority now and into the future.

 

~What Natali Wore ~

Skin – Mother Goose’s – Cookie

Hair – Wasabi Pills – Cookie

Bra and Panty set – Fishy Strawberry – Soignee – Green (Currently @ TDR)

One Comment leave one →
  1. 07/02/2012 8:32 am

    There is still quite a great divide amongst the fashion crowd and the rest of the grid. Sometimes I wonder if it’s only our little group that is so hungry for mesh or is the rest of the grid just as eager? Not sure. Anyhow, thanks for participating and sharing Natali! ❤

Leave a Reply

